A Haunting Memory

My hopes for this blog are simple. I want to help. I want to help others who have or may still be in the horrible situation I was once in, but I know that before I can help anyone else, I need to help myself. Maybe this blog will kill two birds with one stone. 

Writing has always helped me figure out my core feelings about anything, whether I kept the paper I wrote my feelings down on or not; writing makes you think, makes you feel, makes you face your demons. I love it.

I hope this blog will allow me to heal through writing, but also help and maybe even inspire others.

Here is my secret, it haunts me every day: During 2006 to 2007, I was in an extremely abusive relationshit (not a typo); I was a Junior, going into my Senior year of high school.

Very very few of my friends are aware, and the only person in my family that has a very minor idea of what happened, is my mother. My sister and father have absolutely no idea.

I’m 27 now and I feel guilty for keeping this big of a secret from my family, but I can’t bring myself to look them in the eye and tell them of the abuse; it would kill them. I love them, I can’t hurt them like that.

I am alive. I hope my surviving serves a purpose. I hope others can read about my survival and know for sure, that they can get through anything.

– A

Leave a Reply

