Rough Day at Work?

It’s been a rough day.  Why can’t anyone just do their job?  I swear people work harder to NOT do their jobs than to actually just do what they’re supposed to do.

What is up with people who think it’s OK to just slack off at work, or even, say “no” to something that their supervisor/manager asked them to do?  I feel lucky to have a job and work my damn ass off to ensure I’m a good worker and I’m adding value to my company; how can others just be fine with the bare minimum?  Those people are taking it for granted and it gets right under my skin.  Know that if you have a job, you’re lucky – there are so many people in the world who would love to get hired, but these slackers are just fine with doing just the bare minimum at work and skating by to get their annual raise.

This world is unfair; some days it aggravates me more than others.  I try my very best to do my best work all day long and I’m proud of my work, but it scares me that others, who are my age (or just my generation) don’t know the value of hard work, responsibility, and feeling proud for earning what you have.

When I know I’ve worked hard for something, I know I can feel proud, super-duper proud for earning everything that I have rather than being handed everything in life.  How can you not want to feel that happiness and fulfillment in life of working for what you want?

I think lazy workers are the worst; get your shit together, man up and get your work done, correctly, efficiently, and on time, without all the bitching.  Lazy workers just make everyone else’s job harder, but that’s kind of what they want – that way, they don’t have to do the work themselves, because the hard workers will always be there to pick up the slack.

How is that fair?  How can anyone feel good about that?  Sometimes, the more I think about it, the worse I feel about it, but writing it out always helps.

My only hope is that my hard work will pay off some day.  Not money-wise, but respect-wise; I want to be respected for just being a young, hard worker.

Here’s to hoping…cheers!

Leave a Reply

