Life After Abuse

Sometimes I wonder what others think [my] life is like after abuse.  Sometimes I assume people are assholes and think it’s easy peasy OR that we become the most fragile, baggage-filled, vulnerable people around.  That’s not always how it is.

For me, my life is normally pretty good, but I have bad days.  In my case, it seems that stress will trigger some symptoms so I have to be careful to not stress so easily, but we all know stress is inevitable.  When I get stressed, my symptoms heighten, which include:

  • short term memory loss
  • night terrors
  • mood swings
  • anxiety
  • fear
  • fits of rage
  • flashbacks
  • depression

All of things, the night terrors are definitely the worst; they feel so real to me and they are the only thing I cannot control, which frustrates me to no end.

The only things I can really do to control the symptoms, are to simply breathe and talk myself thru it, or talk myself down, really.  Being aware of my surroundings and thinking as realistically as possible really helps me.

And when I can’t control those things, I usually turn to my husband, who is always there to support me and help as much as he possibly can.  I appreciate him so much for that.

The only thing I really cannot control, are the night terrors.  I have not yet figured out how to control those or really figure out what it is that scares me so much into having night terrors every night.

Most days are okay, and most days I feel pretty good…or maybe as good as I possibly can to appear as normal as possible as well.  I love my life, because I make it a good life and I choose to see the better in each day rather than focus on the negatives.  That’s not to say I don’t have bad days, but I just know that I’m going to have bad days, I can’t get around that, but I can love the good days, so that’s what I’ll do.

I did make a video about Life After Abuse, it’s here on YouTube if you’d like to watch:

xoxo

Leave a Reply

