Welp, 2016 is coming to an end…who’s excited?!  Me me me!!!!

2016 wasn’t absolutely horrid, but for some odd reason, I’m really glad it’s over, and I’m ready for 2017!!

Of course, everyone is doing their “new year, new me” bull shit, but I thought it would be a better idea to focus on the positives of both 2016 and the upcoming new year!

To recap 2016 positives:

  • We began to repair  our relationship with my husband’s sister
    • This has been strained for years
    • When we learned of her pregnancy, we all decided to put our differences aside for the sake of having a relationship with our niece
  • Learned we will be an aunt and uncle again
    • COME ON, how is that not exciting?!
    • We’re a professional aunt & uncle, basically
  • Decided to seek professional treatment
    • This was the toughest decision I have ever made in my entire life
    • I’m taking care of myself and my mind
    • I’m going to be so much healthier, mentally
  • Finally told father and sister about abusive relationship, PTSD, and therapy
    • This took a huge weight off my shoulders
    • What a wonderful feeling to have their support through this weird time for me
  • Moved cubicles at work
    • This may not seem like a big deal to a lot of people, but it was a huge deal for me
    • The surroundings of my previous cubicle were not healthy
    • In my new cubicle, I am surrounded by the needed Points Of Contact to achieve my daily goals
    • I sit right next to one of my good friends, so we can keep in touch better now

2017 Goals:

  • Remain in counseling to treat my PTSD
    • I have no plans to stop going to sessions with my therapist
    • Having a regular schedule of sessions (every other week) has been very beneficial to me
  • Drop down to once per month / achieve “maintenance” level within treatment
    • When I hit that one-year mark of attending therapy sessions, I hope to be in a good enough place that my therapist would agree that I can drop down to once per month (vice once every other week ~ twice per month)
    • She calls this “maintenance”
    • This indicates to me, that I would have achieved my goals of therapy and I would be able to simply maintain that healthy lifestyle
  • Conquer my fears associated with the abusive relationship
    • This really can only be achieved by maintaining my regular therapy sessions
    • This is one of the goals of therapy for me
  • Have a regular visiting schedule with sister-in law, her fiancé, and our new niece
    • This works into repairing our relationship
    • It can [hopefully] only get better from here
    • This will show them that we truly care about them and our niece
    • This is important to me
  • Open an IRA
    • Having a finance degree, I am well aware of how good it is to start saving for retirement early
    • Already having a 401K thru work helps, but as we’ve seen in the past, you can’t always bank on a 401K
    • Having an IRA would be backup just in case, god forbid, the stock market crashes yet again
    • Not being financially prepared makes me so anxious
  • Apply my college degree more at work
    • I worked hard for my degree, and I am still paying off those student loans, so it would be nice to apply that degree as much as possible
    • I enjoy finances and would love to be able to test my knowledge by applying everything I learned in college
  • Take a vacation to Disneyworld
    • We have not vacationed since our honeymoon, 4 1/2 years ago
    • We work hard and deserve a little time off, just the two of us
    • My husband hasn’t been to Disney since he was young, I think he will really really enjoy himself there
  • Maintain a regular upload/posting schedule with YouTube and WordPress
    • I truly enjoy all the hard work that goes into both my YouTube channel and this blog
    • I love to keep my mind busy and I love to plan, schedule, and organize
    • I want my “brand” to be synonymous throughout all levels

I love to learn about others; what are some positives from 2016 for you??  What are your goals for 2017, or what are you looking forward to the most in the new year??

LET’S BE FRIENDS:
Instagram
Pinterest
YouTube

Leave a Reply

